Brief Description

Guimaras is an island province in the Philippines located in the region of Western Visayas. Among the smallest provinces, its capital is Jordan. The province is situated in the Panay Gulf, between the islands of Panay and Negros. To the northwest is the province of Iloilo and to the southeast is Negros Occidental. The whole island is part of the Metro Iloilo-Guimaras, one of the twelve metropolitan areas of the Philippines.

The province consists primarily of Guimaras Island, and also includes Inampulugan, Guiwanon (or Guiuanon), Panobolon, Natunga, Nadulao, and many surrounding islets. Geologists have concluded that the island once formed one landmass with Panay.

Guimaras, formerly known as Himal-us, was a sub-province of Iloilo until it was made an independent province on May 22, 1992.


Guimaras comprises primarily of Guimaras Island, and the minor islets of Inampulugan, Guiwanon (or Guiuanon), Panobolon, Natunga, Nadulao and many more. The province covers a total area of 604.57 square kilometres (233.43 sq mi) occupying the southeastern section of the Western Visayas region.

Administrative Divisions

The province has 5 municipalities. There is only one legislative district of Guimaras which encompasses all five towns.

  • Buenavista
  • Jordan
  • Nueva Valencia
  • San Lorenzo
  • Sibunag


The population of Guimaras in the 2015 census was 174,613 people, with a density of 290 inhabitants per square kilometre or 750 inhabitants per square mile.

The people of the province, called Guimarasnon, speak Hiligaynon and Kinaray-a as the primary languages, as it was once a sub-province of Iloilo. Filipino and English are widely spoken and understood.